Senior Care Services - Figuring out Your Level of Care

| Monday, November 14, 2011
By Killian P. Perona

The health of the person looking for nursing care is the key element in picking a a long-term care service. Almost all skilled/intermediate care nursing facilities offer personal care and home services including bedrooms, meals, planned activities and programming to satisfy interpersonal and religious requirements. The levels of nursing and therapy services provided differ really commonly, and these should be carefully coordinated towards individual's needs.

Sheltered Care

Those who are functionally independent but require some help in everyday living, require the care of a sheltered care facility (SC).

Sheltered care facilities focus on the social needs of the people instead of the healthcare needs.

Assisted Living

Those who are mobile yet may need help with several routines of everyday living, may need the services of an assisted living facility.

An assisted living facility is actually a congregate residential location that gives or coordinates personal services, 24-hour guidance and (reserved and unscheduled) help, exercises, and health-related services; is designed to reduce the necessity to move; is made to cater to individual residents' changing needs and choices; is made to improve residents' self-esteem, autonomy, level of privacy, independence, option, and safety; and is made to encourage family and community engagement.

Intermediate Care

People who will need 24-hour nursing care by licensed nurses as given by a medical doctor, need the proper care of an intermediate care facility (ICF).

Rehabilitative programs, interpersonal services and daily activities for persons not capable of full independent living, (for example persons that happen to be convalescing or persons with chronic conditions which aren't critical) are provided. Physical, work and also other remedies can also be offered.

Skilled Nursing Care

People who require 24-hour care need the care of a skilled nursing facility (SNF).

Registered Nurses (RN), Licensed Practical Nurses (LPN), and Certified Nurse Assistants (CNA) provide care and services given by medical professionals with heavy emphasis on medical nursing care. Social services, and also bodily, work and also other therapies are given.

About the Author:


Post a Comment